W is for World Wide Web

W

Looking back to the series of circumstances that draw me to costume-design, I can’t help but realize that this wouldn’t be possible without the World Wide Web.

The cyberspace allowed me to take a peek into different parts of the world without leaving my room. There exist documentaries on TV or articles in magazines, even books, about costuming and writing. But I have to admit that it was the ability to reach information through my screen that I was able to learn so much about those two crafts.

The reason I studied Software Engineering at my hometown, it was because there were no other careers that were taught locally and that really popped at me. Back then, I didn’t have much access to the web as I do now. If I did, I’m sure things would have been different.

It was through the web that my interest for New York and theatre grew stronger. Although my love for books and writing existed way before my incursion into the web, it was the internet what help me reaching writing groups and online courses. Same with the sewing, everything I know about building costumes I learned through the web, then through experimenting myself.

The World Wide Web opens a world of possibilities. Having all that information available, floating in space for us to reach, makes it easier to find a path that really speak to us, and that we are passionate about.

Did the World Wide Web played a role in your incursion into your craft? Does it has an impact now in how you approach your crafting?

*****This month I’m participating in the Blogging from A to Z Challenge. My theme is: Writing Through the Needle’s Eye. I will write posts about Costume Designing and Writing.

About sewingwords

I am a Costume Designer, and when I'm not crazy busy building costume pieces for my local theatre I write Young Adult and Middle Grade fiction.
This entry was posted in Blogging from A to Z and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to W is for World Wide Web

  1. It is wonderful, actually. Research at the press of a button, being able to stay easily in touch with other storytellers (who are not a high population density profession), and so much more. Heck, for writing, I’ve given up most hard copy reference books, but use web based stuff. But that reminds me…sometime over the A to Z I bumped into a blog that gave info on an awesome hard copy writing reference resource, but I didn’t bookmark that and I don’t know who said it…. so losing things on the web is easy…anyone reading this blog, message me if you know what I mean… LOL

Leave a comment